History of genetics

The history of genetics began not so long ago, approximately in the second half of the 19th century, from the research of Austrian monk Gregor Mendel. Before, people did not know what determines the heredity and variability of organisms. Systematic studies have not been conducted in this branch of science. Since antiquity, there were two hypotheses about why offsprings are similar to their ancestors. These are hypotheses of direct and indirect inheritance.

According to the hypothesis of direct inheritance, it was assumed that each part of the body of a parent, each of its cells, conveys the characteristics of its structure to its offspring. The hypothesis of indirect inheritance argued that the sex products are formed apart, therefore the lifetime changes of parents are not transmitted to their descendants.

Charles Darwin adhered to the first hypothesis, which was a mistake. That is why he could not refute one of the critics of his evolutionary theory, who wrote the following. If an animal has a new property, then it will give only ½ of this property to the next generation, and the next one will take only ¼, etc. In the end, the characteristic will disappear. Darwin could not argue, because he did not know that the characteristics of an organism are discrete, they do not mix and dissolve.

Mendel conducted a statistical analysis of inheritance of characteristics in a number of generations. As an object of research, he chose pea plants. It was a very good choice. Such characteristics as the color of seeds and flowers, the wrinkling of seeds are in different chromosomes (i. e. they are inherited independently of each other) and they do not have an intermediate manifestation of the feature (for example, the seed can be either yellow or green but not mixed color). Of course, Mendel knew nothing of the linked inheritance, that the genes and alleles affect each other. If this were observed in the examined pea characteristics, Mendel's experiment might not succeed.

Gregor Mendel and the laws of heredity that he discovered - the 1860s

Mendel proved the discreteness of hereditary traits. They do not mix and dilute, just one trait suppresses another. Mendel developed a hybridological method of research. But most importantly, for the first time in the history of genetics Mendel formulated three laws: the uniformity of hybrids of the first generation (dominance of characteristic), splitting in the second generation, independent inheritance of traits.

However, in those days the history of genetics had not yet begun. Mendel was a monk, not a scientist, so his research was not given much importance. Only at the beginning of the 20th century, when many scientists experimentally confirmed the laws of Mendel on different plants and animals, his works were deservedly evaluated.

The beginning of the 20th century was a stormy stage in the development of genetics. At this time, the term "genetics" appears. The definitions of "gene", "genotype" and "phenotype" were given. The phenomenon of linked genes was discovered, W. Bateson opened the law of purity of gametes, etc. In 1910, together with other scientists, T. Morgan developed the chromosome theory that generalizes and explains all previously made discoveries in the history of genetics.

Thomas Morgan was researching chromosomes, discovered crossing over - the 1910s and later

In subsequent years, genetics and evolutionary theory were linked together. Evolution finds explanation from the point of view of the genetic laws.

Scientists knew that hereditary information is transmitted through chromosomes, but they did not know whether the protein or DNA is responsible for that. In the 40's it became clear that DNA is the carrier of heredity. Some researchers had been transferring DNA from one bacteria to another, in which the traits of the first group appeared.

When new methods of chemistry and physics appeared it became possible to investigate the structure of DNA. This was done by Crick and Watson in 1953. It turned out that the DNA molecule consists of two polynucleotide chains, twisted into a helix. Each of the DNA strands is a template for the synthesis of a new chain. Such doubling of DNA underlies heredity.

Francis Crick and James Watson explained the structure of DNA - the 1950s

Scientists realized that the sequence of nucleotides determines the structure of the protein molecule. Each amino acid of proteins is encoded by three consecutive nucleotides of the DNA.

In the 1970s, genetic engineering appeared. Scientists began to change the genomes of some organisms. Molecular basis of physiological processes was started to research.

In the last decade of the 20th century, the genomes of several simple organisms were sequenced. At the beginning of the 21st century (2003), a project of decoding (determining the sequence of nucleotides in chromosomes) of the human genome was completed.

Logo of Human Genome Project

Currently, there are databases of the genomes of many organisms. The existence of such the base for the human genome is great importance in the prevention and investigation of many diseases.

История генетики

История генетики как науки началась не так уж давно, примерно со второй половины XIX века, с работ чешского монаха Грегора Менделя. До этого люди не знали, что лежит в основе наследственности и изменчивости организмов. Никаких систематических исследований в этой области не проводилось. С древних времен существовали две гипотезы о том, почему потомки похожи на своих предков. Это гипотезы прямого и непрямого наследования.

По гипотезе прямого наследования предполагалось, что каждая часть тела родителя, каждая его клетка передает особенности своего строения потомку. Гипотеза непрямого наследования исходила из того, что не все части организма участвуют в образовании половых продуктов, а они образуются обособлено, поэтому прижизненные изменения родителя не передаются потомкам.

Чарльз Дарвин придерживался первой гипотезы, что было ошибкой. Из-за этого он не смог опровергнуть одного из критиков своей эволюционной теории, который писал следующее. Если у единичного животного появляется какой-либо признак, то при передаче следующему поколения от него останется ½, еще следующему ¼ и т. д. В конечном итоге признак исчезнет. Дарвин не смог возразить, так как не знал, что признаки организма дискретны, они не смешиваются и не растворяются.

Г. Мендель провел длительные, систематические, статистические исследования наследования признаков. В качестве объекта исследования был выбран горох. Это был очень удачный выбор. Такие признаки как цвет семян и цветков, морщинистость семян и ряд других находятся в разных хромосомах (т. е. наследуются не сцеплено), и у них чаще всего нет промежуточного проявления признака (например, семя может быть либо желтым, либо зеленым, но не смешанного цвета). Мендель конечно же тогда ничего не знал о сцепленном наследовании, влиянии генов и аллелей друг на друга и др. Если бы в исследуемых признаках гороха все это наблюдалось, то его эксперимент бы мог не удасться.

Грегор Мендель и его исследования
Грегор Мендель и открытые им законы наследственности - 1860-е годы

Мендель доказал дискретность наследственных признаков. Они не разбавляются, а существует лишь подавление одного другим. Менделем был разработан гибридологический метод исследования. Но самое главное Мендель впервые в истории генетики сформулировал три ее закона: единообразия гибридов первого поколения, расщепления во втором поколении, независимого наследования.

Однако в те времена история генетики еще не началась. Мендель был монахом-самоучкой, и его исследованиям большого значения не придали. Лишь в начале XX века, когда многие ученые экспериментально на разных растениях и животных подтвердили справедливость законов Менделя, его работы получили заслуженную оценку.

Начало XX века было бурным этапом в развитии генетики. В это время появляется сам термин «генетика». Дается определение «гена», «генотипа» и «фенотипа». Обнаруживается явление сцепления (совместного наследования) генов, У. Бэтсоном открывается закон чистоты гамет и др. В 1910 году Т. Морган совместно с другими учеными разрабатывает хромосомную теорию, которая во многом обобщает и объясняет все ранее сделанные открытия в истории генетики.

Томас Морган и открытый им кроссинговер
Томас Морган изучал хромосомы, открыл кроссинговер - 1910-е годы

В последующие годы генетика и эволюционное учение связываются между собой. Второе находит объяснение с точки зрения законов первой.

Ученые знали, что хромосомы участвуют в передаче наследственной информации, но не знали, какое вещество ответственно за это. В 40-х годах стало понятно, что ДНК является носителем наследственности. Так ряд ученых переносили ДНК одних бактерий в другие и наблюдали у вторых появление признаков первых.

С развитием методов химии и физики стало возможно исследовать структуру ДНК, что было сделано Криком и Уотсоном в 1953 году. Оказалось, что молекула ДНК состоит из двух полинуклеотидных цепей, закрученных в спираль. Каждая из цепей ДНК является матрицей для синтеза комплементарной ей новой цепи, и удвоение ДНК обеспечивает наследственность.

Фрэнсис Крик и Джеймс Уотсон, строение ДНК
Фрэнсис Крик и Джеймс Уотсон открыли структуру ДНК - 1950-е годы

Ученые поняли, что последовательность нуклеотидов в гене определяет структуру белковой молекулы. Каждая аминокислота белка кодируется тремя последовательными нуклеотидами ДНК.

В истории генетики 70-е годы XX века ознаменовались появлением генной инженерии. Ученые стали вмешиваться в геномы живых организмов и изменять их. Стали изучаться молекулярные основы различных физиологических процессов.

В последнее десятилетие XX века были секвенированы (расшифрованы) геномы многих простых организмов. В начала XXI века (2003 г.) был завершен проект по расшифровке (определению последовательности нуклеотидов в хромосомах) генома человека.

Логотип проекта Геном человека
Логотип проекта "Геном человека"

На сегодняшний день существуют базы данных геномов многих организмов. Наличие такой базы данных человека имеет большое значение в предупреждении и исследовании многих заболеваний.